Tips for attending bride shows….. From a man’s prospective

Well gents, the wedding show season has begun, and if you’re lucky enough to be chosen to attend, your betrothed will probably be toting you around a bustling hotel or convention center, to shop for all the elements to create her dream wedding.
So to ease the tension and stress of feeling you’re just along for the ride, I’ll give you a few pointers to help you survive.

1) STAY AWAY FROM MAN CAVES!!
Some show promoters feature a man cave to give you some “relief” from walking around doing “girl things” all day (not a good idea). Truth be told, nothing could be more selfish than to volunteer to go to a show with your woman, knowing you had no intention of spending any time with her. I guarantee, SHE WON’T LIKE IT!
2) SHOW SOME INTEREST:
Hey, it’s your wedding too! You have decisions to make, and she brought you along because she respects your opinion (unless you have a bridezilla, then no one is safe), and it’s a great way to show solidarity as you face pushy vendors. And if she has no support, she could get bullied into choosing a vendor you won’t like.
3) BE PATIENT:
She may want to linger about with the vendors that interest her most. Take note, these will probably be the things you are going to discuss later. Besides, you don’t want to be the bad guy for rushing her through the show, do you?
4) GIVE POSITIVE INPUT:
Remember #2? Your opinion has great value if she brought you along. Don’t just say “yes dear” or “whatever she wants”. If she wants to share the experience, believe me, she’s going to want to know what you think.
5) STAY FOCUSED, STAY TOGETHER:
This is also a time for you to get a grasp on some of the things you may be interested in. You won’t believe how much you’ll begin to care, the closer you get to your date. And if you do happen to separate, at least make sure you have something in hand, to show you were serving a purpose. And I would advise not making too many excuses to run to the restroom, she’ll get a sense you won’t want to be there.

These hints come from my many years of exhibiting, and at one time, attending bride shows. The best you can do is give your best, and if you won’t be there in spirit, it’s best not to be there at all. Better than getting the mad eye or silent treatment on the way home, that’s a long ride!
Follow this advice, and it will be all good, shop well men, and enjoy the show!

~A~

About djnameless

I am The Nameless One. My real name is Arron R. Howard, and I'm the owner, and creator of Nameless Entertainment. I have been a DJ/MC/Mobile entertainer since 1991. After 10 years of dabbling, I turned pro, and created Nameless Entertainment in 2001. I came up with Nameless, not because of a lack of confidence, or wanting to be forgotten. I chose the name because I always want my clients to know they are the most important element of their event, and they ALWAYS COME FIRST! I love music and entertaining, and I care very passionately about what I do for a living. I love being a part of people's lives and special events, and making their parties moments to remember for many years. So, stop by, see what peaks your interest, and feel free to share. I look forward to hearing from you! View all posts by djnameless

Leave a Reply

